Home » phd » Shut up and write

Shut up and write

Start here

Today i’m at ‘shut up and write’.

Since my phd changed direction I’m now looking at hate crimes and hate incidents. As i write, and read, I become more aware of putting myself in those positions. The area i live in has the lowest confidence in the police to deal appropriately with attacks and the highest level of attacks (Stonewall 2013). As a genderqueer person I don’t know how I look to most people, although since I shaved my head I’m getting called ‘mate’ significantly more often – until I open my mouth at least. I haven’t yet had any hassle for my appearance, but I’m also aware that due to disability, I don’t go out as much as I used to (3x a week, as opposed to every day).

But before I made some definite social transitions (moving to an androgynous version of my name, shaving my head), I had big fears around how I would be perceived for making any (wearing a binder etc). I remember the first time I wore one in public. I was worried about how that would work out. But of course, no-one is going to comment on a stranger’s chest (outside of ‘standard’ misogynistic comments!) and it went virtually un-noticed. Shaving my head feels like a bigger thing. I did it for charity four years ago (a friend had cancer and chemo took her hair so my partner and I shaved ours at the same time) and got called various things, including ‘cock in a frock’ (original).

This time round, it’s been 3 weeks, and no real comments so far (I couldn’t tell you for sure what the insults from the car going past me and someone else were today – I don’t know if they were aimed at me, or just an idiot with general views to air). Today I feel like I’m out in force in my genderqueerness with a skinny cut tshirt aimed at women, and a binder and shaved head. It feels great. But also anxiety-inducing. As i read the Stonewall report I see where i might fit in those statistics or what might happen. It strengthens my ideas behind the phd; whether or not there is a threat, I am aware that there COULD be a threat, and I feel unsafe within that. My campus does not feel like the safest place to be necessarily (although it doesn’t feel any more unsafe than the street). I want to change that, so that campus IS a safe place.


What say you?